Tags

, , , ,

 

 Acne is not an easy condition to get rid of and can result from many factors: diet, pollution, dehydration, hormones, stress…

In this day and age, teenagers are not the only ones experiencing pimples, blemishes and scars and I often see patients who tell me they have tried everything yet cannot see the end of “this bad skin phase”. It can be disheartening and stressful, which in turns causes more acne.

At my practice I offer many solutions to treat acne and skin problems in general: from chemical peels to dermal fillers and mesotherapy, there are many alternatives to the traditional treatments that your skin has not responded well to.

If you have questions about chemical peels or any other procedure or treatment I offer, feel free to leave a comment here or on my social media platforms and I will get back to you as soon as I can. Also, please visit my website

 

Chemical Peels:

Chemical peels are becoming a popular treatment for people with acne. That being said, you need to make sure that it is the right treatment for you. If you are unsure, I recommend you schedule a consultation with me by phoning my rooms on 011 954 0070/3 and together we will discuss what option is best to treat your skin.

During a chemical peel (or chemexfoliation) I carefully and skilfully apply chemical solutions onto the skin. The chemicals remove the damaged outer layers of the skin, which in turn stimulates new cell generation and healthy skin production. The acids in chemical peel solutions can also help dry up active acne and dissolve sebum and clogs. I often use chemical peels to alleviate the appearance of acne scars. My patients usually undergo repeated sessions at periodic intervals but I will discuss the frequency of the treatments with you depending on your skin’s characteristics as well as your budget and expected outcome.

Even though I offer all 3 kinds of chemical peels at my Aesthetics South Africa practice, trichloroacetic acids (or TCAs) are without a doubt the most common I perform.

TCA’s are stronger than glycolic acid. These penetrate further into the skin to reduce:

  • Acne scars,
  • Smaller wrinkles and
  • They will help to even out skin tone.

TCA chemical peels may require pre-treatment with AHA or Retin-A creams to assist in the deeper penetration and a faster result but I will guide you through the process.

You can read more about chemical peels at my practice here.

However, I always warn my patients that chemical peels can make your skin worse in the beginning as they exfoliate your skin and bring pollutants from the inside to the surface. This elimination process usually decreases after approximately 3 treatment sessions. So I would recommend not getting a peel right before a big social event.

A big misconception is that chemical peels will get rid of acne faster but in fact, when used as an acne treatment, repeated chemical peels will only start to work after approximately 2 months. This is the amount of time necessary for your skin to “reject”, adjust and clear out eventually. I want my patients to know that chemical peels are not a quick fix to treat acne – but can be effective in the long term.

I hope that this blog helped you understand how chemical peels can treat acne or acne scars, I will also be talking about the use of dermal fillers and mesotherapy to treat acne so make sure to follow my Facebook and Twitter pages as well as my blog!

 

 

 

